Our Mission

To secure an equitable justice system and ensure high quality legal representation for people facing loss of liberty.


The Florida Public Defender Association (FPDA) is a non-profit corporation within the executive branch of the State Government of Florida.   The FPDA’ s mission is to secure an equitable justice system and ensure high quality legal representation for people facing loss of liberty.  

Answering Gideon’s Call
The right of one charged with crime to counsel may not be deemed fundamental and essential to fair trials in some countries, but it is in ours.”
–Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)

Upcoming Events

  • Thursday

    Summer Training

    Summer Training Event

    Aug 1 - 2, (ET)
    Daytona Beach, FL, United States

  • Thursday

    Life Over Death

    Life Over Death

    Sep 5 - 7, (ET)
    Lake Buena Vista, FL, United States

  • Wednesday

    Capital Voir Dire - The Morgan Method

    Capital Voir Dire

    Nov 13 - 15, (ET)
    Safety Harbor, FL, United States

Florida Public Defenders

First Circuit
Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton
Hon. Bruce Miller 

Second Circuit
Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla
Hon. Andy Thomas

Third Circuit
Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwanee, Taylor
Hon. Blair Payne

Fourth Circuit
Clay, Duval, Nassau
Hon. Charles Cofer

Fifth Circuit
Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Marion, Sumter
Hon. Mike Graves

Sixth Circuit
Pasco, Pinellas
Hon. Bob H. Dillinger

Seventh Circuit
Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns
Hon. James S. Purdy

Eighth Circuit
Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy, Union
Hon. Stacy A. Scott

Tenth Circuit
Hardee, Highlands, Polk
Hon. H. Rex Dimmig

Eleventh Circuit
Hon. Carlos J. Martinez

Twelfth Circuit
DeSoto, Manatee, Sarasota
Hon. Larry L. Eger

Thirteenth Circuit
Hon. Julianne M. Holt

Fourteenth Circuit
Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Washington
Hon. Mark Sims

Fifteenth Circuit
Palm Beach
Hon. Carey Haughwout

Sixteenth Circuit
Hon. Robert Lockwood

Seventeenth Circuit
Hon. Howard Finkelstein

Eighteenth Circuit
Brevard, Seminole
Hon. Blaise Trettis

Nineteenth Circuit
Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, St. Lucie
Hon. Diamond R. Litty

Twentieth Circuit
Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry, Lee
Hon. Kathleen A. Smith

Association Leadership

Carey Haughwout, Fifteenth Circuit

Bruce Miller, First Circuit

Stacy A. Scott, Eighth Circuit

H. Rex Dimmig, Tenth Circuit